Home > Uncategorized > starbucks vs. caribou

starbucks vs. caribou

So what do you think is better Starbucks v. Caribou? I prefer Starbucks personally. I sort of got hooked on it while I was stuck on lay over in the Cincinnati airport back in June. Unfortunately there is no Starbucks in Monticello.

Thursday I brought my old Starbucks cup to the Caribou drive thru and asked them to refill it. They didn’t really think it was that funny, but they took my old cup and gave me a free Caribou so that was cool.

So which do you prefer? You could throw Dunn Bros. in the mix too.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. July 30, 2005 at 3:04 am

    When we were in Seattle a couple of weeks ago, we went to the original Starbucks. Being a huge Seattle Supersonics fan, you might think I would have to vote for Starbucks (Starbuck’s founder (Howard Schults) is the principle owner of the Sonics). I’d have to vote 1) Dunn Bros. 2) Caribou 3) Starbucks.

    Big Chris
    Because I said so blog

  2. Anonymous
    August 2, 2005 at 7:52 am

    Caribou all the way!

  3. GW
    November 7, 2006 at 1:12 am

    I much prefer Caribou. Starbucks burns their beans – they’re just roasted too darkly and to me they taste bitter.

  4. Tanya
    October 2, 2007 at 2:46 am

    Caribou is too strong, Starbucks ALL day!! The lattes at Starbucks are the best!. Caribou is just a decent backup if there is no near by Starbucks.

    SB
    Dunn Bros

    Caribou

  5. helga
    October 7, 2007 at 5:03 am

    most definitely starbucks.
    [:

  6. December 12, 2007 at 8:24 pm

    Starbucks gets my vote. To those who find Starbucks coffee tastes burnt, I would suggest either Light Note or Breakfast blend. If, after trying either of these varieties, you still think the coffee tastes burnt, Starbucks is probably not for you.

  7. BOBBY
    March 17, 2008 at 5:03 pm

    Caribou

  8. BOBBY
    March 17, 2008 at 5:03 pm

    all you mother fuckers are gonna pay.. you are the ones who are the ball lickers.. were gonna fuck your motheres why you watch and cry like little winey biches, once we

    • Zeph
      August 11, 2010 at 4:16 am

      you’re a fucking moron.

  9. BOBBY
    March 17, 2008 at 5:04 pm

    Caribou ALL THE WAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  10. CASEY
    April 17, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    Why is CARIBOU better than starbucks?

    Two Words: RAINFOREST ALLIANCE…

    Rainforest Alliance Certified coffee is grown on farms where forests are PROTECTED, rivers, soils and wildlife CONSERVED; workers are treated with RESPECT, PAID DECENT WAGES, properly EQUIPPED and given access to EDUCATION and MEDICAL CARE.

    On the opposite side of the spectrum what can starbuck’s “beloved” fair trade coffee say? “We trade fair”? Well congratulations on not ripping people off.

    CARIBOU GOES BEYOND JUST TRADING FAIRLY AND MAKES A TRUE DIFFERENCE IN THE LIVES AND VILLAGES OF THEIR FARMERS http://www.rainforest-alliance.org/

  11. July 23, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    starbucks.

    love the people and atmosphere at caribou, just not their coffee. there is a hard to describe but to me overpowering spicy taste (not too strong or bitter) to it. i would compare it with an otherwise well-composed stew with a too generous amount of – say – cumin in it.

  12. swoosh101
    April 29, 2009 at 5:09 am

    Caribou by far, it is good quality coffee. Plus if you look into the development of the beans you would appreciate Caribou much more!

  13. Phil
    July 15, 2009 at 6:28 am

    Caribou. Honestly, I’ve never had a decent cup of coffee at a Starbucks. It always tastes like tar because they over-roast their beans–and I generally LIKE dark roasts! The only blend I like from Starbucks is Verona. However, Caribou’s blends are more balanced, and they don’t burn their beans. Their regional coffees are also pretty nice. Their bakery items are better, too, and their baristas are generally friendlier. The only thing Starbucks has that’s better than Caribou is their chai lattes. However, it’s my opinion that Starbucks is not for people who really enjoy good coffee.

  14. JonasL0V3
    November 23, 2009 at 9:18 pm

    CARIBOU.
    It’s just SOO much better than Starbucks. The taste, the atmosphere, the service.
    EVERYTHING.

  15. odinfin
    December 14, 2009 at 9:49 pm

    Caribou. No doubts.
    Drinking a white chocolate Ho Ho Mint Mocha right now.
    I know you’re jealous.

  16. March 31, 2012 at 5:49 pm

    WHAOOOOO caribbou m be good after all so many lovers? BTW what they did at the drive thru impressed me!ust

  17. Jill
    February 15, 2013 at 8:46 pm

    The Bou!! The best coffee, so smooth! Starbucks is nasty, the taste is so bitter. I love Caribou’s coolers and Turtle Mocha’s, Mint Condition, Berry Light Mocha. Hey I am in Minnesota…You’ve got to love the Bou!! Caribou!!!

  18. May 3, 2013 at 4:53 am

    It is hence in your ideal interests to guarantee that your web site
    is on the very first web page of search outcomes in Google and other substantial research engines.
    What you seriously require in modern World-wide-web earth is research engine results website page takeover.

  19. Chris Fleming
    October 13, 2013 at 3:35 am

    I have some interesting input. I am a coffee/espresso fanatic (no flavor/sweetener) and I also work at a Caribou Coffee in Minnesota. However, I am actually more of a Starbucks fan and I’m not sure why. I think that there are 3 elements that contribute to an individual’s overall experience at a coffee shop.

    1) Interior design/decor: This is the first thing that you notice when you walk into a coffee shop. Its not the guest service or the flavor of the coffee. The first thing that you notice is how the shop is laid out, and the vibe it gives you. Caribou Coffee takes the lead on this one by far. It has a very cozy, warm cabin in the mountains type feel. Starbucks on the other hand clearly did not spend much money or time on the design of their store. Nothing is to fancy. Just some modern decor here and there.
    2) Customer service: This is the second element that is noticed by an individual. How are the Baristas/workers treating you? This one will obviously very greatly from person to person. You may walk into the wrong Caribou/Starbucks, or happen to bother one of the workers on a bad day, but personally I have always been more satisfied with the service at Starbucks. Caribou seems to be concerned more about getting the drink to the customer in the shortest amount of time possible (which is good), but they don’t focus on the connections made with the customer as much (I know because I went through the training.) But whenever I go to Starbucks I am always asked how I am doing, and what I am up to that day. They also remembered my name and order after my first time going there! So Starbucks takes the win on this one.
    3) Finally we have the third element of someones overall experience at a coffee shop. The Coffee/Espresso. If your drink tastes like poop then who cares about the decor and customer service? I personally like the warm and smooth flavors of the coffees at Caribou Coffee. I (and everyone else here) have also observed that most Starbucks coffees and espresso drinks taste over roasted. I never order anything that is a dark roast at Starbucks, because it always tastes muddy, and it leaves behind that strange dry-mouth residue feeling after you take a sip. Also, Caribou Coffee’s variety of coffee that is stocked on the shelves is a MUCH larger selection of coffee than you will ever see at Starbucks. Along with the wide variety of light, medium, and dark roast coffees at Caribou Coffee, they are also all Rain-Forest-Alliance certified. They teamed up with the Rain Forest Alliance to make sure that they are selling you only the best quality coffee.

    So overall, Caribou wins 2 out of 3 for me, but I am still more of a Starbucks fan. I think that it has to do greatly with their customer service, but that is just based off of my personal experiences. Never judge a Caribou/Starbucks by one or two visits to only one or two locations. Look around at a few different locations and try out each location a few times to see which one that you think is best.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment