Home > Uncategorized > what a wonderful day for golfing

what a wonderful day for golfing

Man, how nice have the last few days been for playing golf! I caught some grief about the repeated titles but hey, when it is a wonderful day to play, its a wonderful day to play. I played 9 holes today and shot a 41, not bad. I played with Peter and my buddy Daryl.

So, I preached today on ‘Finding Treasure in the OT.’ I pointed out four verses that are like treasure find because they are packed with truth potential to change lives. I felt like the message didn’t go over as well as I had hoped and I was disappointed. If you go to my church, leave me a comment with your impression of the message – good and bad, stay anonymous if you want. Some objective outside feedback would really help me develop my preaching.

I am reading Blue Like Jazz right now, by Donald Miller. It is a good read about Christianity minus the religiosity that usually accompanies it. One of the things that has hit me is how Miller talks about his struggles to characterize his own faith to others. Have you ever experienced this? Think about it…How do you know God is real? How would you explain that feeling to others? It is tough. Tough for me at least. I just know God is real, I can feel it deep inside me.

That is what I need to pray more for others – that they would just know deep inside themselves. Sounds a lot like that verse that talks about the Father drawing people to himself doesn’t it? Takes some pressure off ‘me’ in evangelism. That is freeing.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment