Home > Uncategorized > don’t forget all that God has done for you

don’t forget all that God has done for you

Similar to what Tony Morgan said recently, one of the reasons I blog is to keep a record of my life. This is especially helpful in spiritual things. Mark Batterson has talked repeatedly about the concept of ‘spiritual amnesia,’ which is simply defined as: forgetting what God has done for me.

Too often I forget what God has done for me; especially when times get tough and I begin to walk in fear rather than faith. This is particularly true in times of financial strain. So tonight I want to document for you, and especially for myself, all the ways that my Father in Heaven has taken care of my family and I in the last few days.

* Stephanie’s Tupperware bonus was almost $300 more than expected
* I got some good news regarding a new job opportunity
* Someone gifted us with a check for $200
* We bought a one dollar scratch off ticket and won $100 (don’t know for sure if that one was God but we’ll take it and thank him anyway)

It is so easy to think in the ways of the world. Doubt and insecurity creep into our lives so stealthily; you hardly even notice how you stop trusting God and begin depending on yourself. But I refuse to do that. And I refuse to lead me family in the ways of the world. Jesus said this in Matthew 6:25-34…

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes?

So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them.

But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

God will take care of me. God will provide for my family. God will guide us to the life he has for us. The question is…will we focus of eyes on the cross and Jesus Christ who died for us or will we pursue the wisdom of the world?

1 Corinthians 1:18 – For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. margaret
    June 14, 2006 at 3:35 pm

    I was just reading Matthew last night and I highlighted some of these verses. One that really hits home is ‘Therefore do not worry about tomorrow for tomorrow will worry about itself.’ I struggle with worrying, mostly things that are not in my control. I’ve been working on handing these things over to God.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment