Archive

Archive for August 9, 2007

I Like God, It’s His Fan Club I Can’t Stand

August 9, 2007 1 comment

I was listening to the radio on my way home from work today and I heard a talk show host talking about a guest he is planning to have on his program next week. The guest is a writer for the LA Times who used to cover religion for the paper. He no longer does so because he claims to have all the religion sucked out of him after having to cover so many negative stories related to organized religion.

In clarifying about the guest the producer of the radio show made an interesting comment. He said, “It is not that [the writer] doesn’t like God anymore, he just doesn’t know about the people in God’s fan club.” I listen to this radio show often and I know that the host and producer have a very low view of God and church and religion, so it struck me when the producer made this comment. Reminded me of something Erwin McManus says, “The greatest enemy of Christianity in the US today is Christians.”

Brothers and sisters, our life says a lot. Live it right, live it righteous, and live it loud.

Categories: Uncategorized

The Gap Between God’s Promise and Its Fulfillment

Talking with my mom tonight and she reminded me of something in Scripture. Many times Biblical characters had to wait long amounts of time between the promises of God and their fulfillment. Thing about it. Abraham waited ten years between the promise of a son and the birth of one. Moses wandered in the desert for 40 years before his people could enter the promise land. Joseph spent years in prison and many years as Pharaoh’s helper before he was able to assist his family during the famine.

I live in a culture that teaches me I can have everything I want, when I want it. However, God doesn’t seem to like my cultures plan. More often he promises me something and then delays fulfilling that promise. But his delay is not without purpose. There is shaping and forming that needs to be done in my life. There is junk that needs to be chiseled away before I will be ready to receive.

If you are at a point where you think God has forgotten his promises to you, be encouraged with these Scriptures,

3 For still the vision awaits its appointed time;
it hastens to the end—it will not lie.
If it seems slow, wait for it;
it will surely come; it will not delay. (Habakkuk 2:3)

9 The Lord is not slow to fulfill his promise as some count slowness, but is patient toward you, (2 Peter 3:9)

Categories: Bibles, Theology